Full list of winners of the European Film Awards 2022

Ruben Östlund’s satire “Triangle of Sadness” topped the 35th European Film Prize Saturday, winning Best Picture, Director and Screenwriter, as well as Best Actor for Zlatko Burić.

Philippe Bober, who produced the film alongside Erik Hemmendorff, said the film illustrated Europe’s desire to be a haven for auteur cinema. “Europe is where cinema was born, and it was born with filmmakers, so our whole industry is built around filmmakers to support and distribute their work,” he said. “Maybe it’s a bit different on the other side of the Atlantic, where first you have the pipeline and then you have to find something to put in the pipeline.”

When Östlund won his Best Director award, he dedicated it to the late actor Charlbi Dean, who died in August at the age of 32.

Vicky Krieps won the European Actress Award for her performance as Empress Elisabeth of Austria in ‘Corsage’. Krieps said: “I want to dedicate this to all the women who need to be seen and heard, who need to break free and heal from these deep, deep wounds that we have carried for generations, and that we need to heal so that men and women can find each other.

“Mariupolis 2” won the documentary prize, which was won by the daughter of its director, Mantas Kvedaravicius, who was killed in Ukraine. It was the most moving moment of the evening. “He lost his life in a kind of selflessness that most of us can’t hope to achieve – providing people with medicine. I feel so lucky to have had someone so brilliant in my life,” she said.

The most embarrassing moment of the night came when the Best Comedy award went to ‘The Good Boss,’ which stars Javier Bardem. Producer Jaume Roures, clearly indifferent, said: “Thank you for this award, even if ‘The Good Boss’ is a drama, not a comedy.” Director Fernando León de Aranoa reinforced this point, saying, “You probably gave the European Comedy Award to the most serious people in the room.”

The awards, which took place in the Harpa Concert Hall in the Icelandic capital Reykjavík, were voted on by the 4,400 members of the European Film Academy.

Winners included directors Marco Bellocchio, who received the European Innovative Storytelling Award, Elia Suleiman, winner of the European Achievement in world cinema award, and Margarethe von Trotta, winner of the European Lifetime Achievement Award.

Icelandic actor, screenwriter and politician Ilmur Kristjánsdóttir and Icelandic artist, author and comedian Hugleikur Dagsson were the emcees of the event, which was attended by around 1,200 guests.

The evening’s presenters included Danish actor Nikolaj Coster-Waldau, Bulgarian actor Maria Bakalova (“Next Borat Movie”), Italian actor Lorenzo Zurzolo (“EO”), Icelandic director Baltasar Kormákur, German actor Nina Hoss, Franco-Algerian actor Dali Benssalah. and German actor Albrecht Schuch.

Actors nominated at the event include Zlatko Burić (“Triangle of Sadness”), Elliott Crosset Hove (“Godland”), Eden Dabrine (“Close”), Pierfrancesco Favino (“Nostalgia”), Meltem Kaptan (“Rabiye Kurnaz Vs . George W. Bush”) and Léa Seydoux (“One beautiful morning”).

Nominated directors in the audience included Ali Abbasi (“Holy Spider”), Lukas Dhont (“Close”), Alice Diop (“St (“EO”).

The Icelandic Symphony Orchestra, music collective INNI and Icelandic electronic music group GusGus were the live musical artists of the evening.

Check out the full list of winners and nominees below, updated live.


european movie
“Holy Spider”
“Triangle of Sadness” – WINNER

European documentary
“A House Made of Shards”
“Girl Gang”
“Marioupolis 2” – WINNER
“The Balcony Movie”
“The March on Rome”

Europe Director
Lukas Dhont for “Close”
Marie Kreutzer for “Bodice”
Jerzy Skolimowski for “EO”
Ali Abbasi for “Holy Spider”
Alice Diop for “Saint Omer”
Ruben Östlund for “Triangle of Sadness” – WINNER

European actress
Vicky Krieps in “Bodice”
Zar Amir Ebrahimi in “Holy Spider”
Léa Seydoux in “One Fine Morning”
Penélope Cruz in “Parallel Mothers”
“Rabiye Kurnaz Vs.” by Meltem Kaptan. George W. Bush”

European player
Paul Mescal in “Aftersun”
Eden Dambrine in “Close”
Elliott Crosset Hove in “Godland”
Pierfrancesco Favino in “Nostalgia”
Zlatko Burić in “Triangle of Sadness” – WINNER

European screenwriter
Carla Simón & Arnau Vilaró for “Alcarràs”
Kenneth Branagh for “Belfast”
Lukas Dhont & Angelo Tijssens for “Close”
Ali Abbasi & Afshin Kamran Bahrami for “Holy Spider”
Ruben Östlund for “Triangle of sadness” – WINNER

European discovery – FIPRESCI Prize
“107 mothers”
“Love according to Dalva”
“The other people”
“Little Body” – WINNER

European comedy
“Secret Cop”
“The divide”
“The Good Boss” – WINNER

European animated feature film
“Little Nicolas – Happy as can be”
“My love affair with marriage”
“My Neighbors’ Neighbors”
“No dogs or Italians allowed” – WINNER

European short film
“Granny’s Sex Life” – WINNER
“Ice cream vendors”
“I love you dad”
“Tech, Mom”
“Will my parents come to see me”

Leave a Comment