Our iPhone gives us all the convenience we might need, right? It gives us access to a map when we’re lost, internet access when we want more information, and even access to social media when we’re bored.
What you may not realize is how much information you have shared with others that you may have forgotten. Apple has a useful new feature called Safety Check that will walk you through what you’ve shared and with whom and how to revoke access. If you’ve ever felt like someone was following you, be sure to review these settings.
What is Security Check?
If you recently updated your iPhone to the latest iOS 16 software, you will notice the new Security Check feature that comes with the update. Safety Check was created by Apple for users who believe their personal safety is at risk, whether it is a case of bullying or bullying.
When Safety Check is on, it lets you choose who you are with share information. It also limits messages and FaceTime to one iPhone, resets system privacy permission for apps, changes passcodes, changes an Apple ID password, and more.
Where can I find Safety Check on my iPhone?
- Go to your Settings app
- Scroll down and select Privacy & Security
- Scroll down and select Security Check
- Which apps use Security Check when enabled?
The following apps will stop sharing information with people you’ve restricted once Security Control is enabled:
- Shared calendars
- Shared location using Locate
- Shared ratings
- Shared photos (including shared library and shared albums)
- When enabled, what information stops being shared with Safety Check?
- When Security Control is enabled, it deletes all data collected by the following apps, networks, and features:
- Files and folders
- Rental services
- Media and Apple Music
- Movement and fitness
- To research
- XVoice Recognition
What features are available in Safety Check?
Safety Check comes with three main features.
1. Emergency reset
The first feature to review in The security check is Emergency reset.This is available to anyone who wants to immediately reset access for all people and apps, as well as review and reset all settings associated with your Apple ID.
- Your location will no longer be shared in Find My
- Your privacy permissions for all apps will be reset
- Messages and FaceTime will be limited to your iPhone
2. Manage sharing and access
If you only want to restrict sharing with certain people, you can selectManage sharing and access.This will allow you to customize who and which apps can access your information.
3. Quick Exit
Finally, in case you need to quickly hide the information you configure in your Safety Check app, all you have to do is press the Quick Exit button, and it will save all the changes you have made and will immediately bring you back to the security check home page. No one will be able to access the changes you have made in the meantime.
Once you click Manage Sharing & Access, you’ll get to lists of your contacts, apps, and other devices (Mac laptops, iPads, etc.). You will then be allowed to choose with whom and with what you wish to share your information. All your actions will be recorded and you can always come back to the security check later and edit your work.
Quick tips and tools for your iPhone can be found by searching “iPhone” on CyberGuy.com.
Copyright 2023 CyberGuy.com. All rights reserved. CyberGuy.com articles and content may contain affiliate links that earn a commission on purchases.