Joseph Ossai’s hit on Patrick Mahomes should not justify a 15-yard penalty

Something bothered me about the late base hit penalty on Bengals defensive end Joseph Ossai in the AFC Championship Game. It wasn’t the decision, which was correct, or the rule, which made sense. It’s not that the officials called the penalty at such a critical moment in the game; the definition of a penalty should not change with two minutes to go just because fans and the media might be annoyed by its impact on the game.

Leave a Comment